Brainstorming: Introducing new player nations

Started by The Rock Doctor, March 01, 2007, 01:10:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

maddox

Borys

Ahoj!
There's a young man at Warship projects who - if pointed out something not correct with his SS design - does not say "ur mean and i got the other thigs rite". He says "thank you, I am still learning".
I'd bring him in.

Borys

Borys

Ahoj!
I am against (surprise!) increasing world size.
How are we to calculate sailing distances?

Borys

maddox

I talked a bit around, and found a nice known universe world to play.

It has  N-verse earth build in, and expansion possibilities by the  bulk carrier load.

Ringworld.  In 1 ocean (of the many)  there is a full set of "maps" of the solar system. Mars as if it had oceans as well as Venus. With only a few 10 000 miles between "planets".

We could easely and explainably put the N-verse in there, with the  earth map as one of the area's in that 1 of many oceans.

Earl822

I have reservations about mucking about with the Worlds dimensions, as I get this constantly niggling little voice that says "It won't work, it won't work!

That said, a Wesworld Atlantis size Island around the position of Hawaii would be fun!

Earl822

Other ideas I've had for N-Verse3.0 include:-

Taranty
Atlantis in Mid Atlantic
A large, GB sized Island around St Helena(preferably to the east of the Ridge)

And

The Island of Sodor. ;)

The Rock Doctor

Folks:

I'm not really certain that a larger world is what you need out of a sim.  There is plenty of empty and unused space in the Navalism world right now.  The problem has been filling that space, with active, long term players on one hand and reasonable, interesting nations on the other.  Increasing the world size does not solve that problem, it just lets you delay it.